About the school

Graduate school is thus not only a place where graduate study programmes are carried out, but in a first place a creative environment where students, researchers and experts from different fields and institutions meet with a common goal to create new basic and applied knowledge.

Graduate school joins and carries out all doctoral study programmes which are formed in the field of one or more connected scientific disciplines. Individual programmes are closely linked with research laboratories, centers and institutes at University of Nova Gorica or other research institutions in Slovenia or abroad, where graduate students can perform their research work or have the opportunity to participate in the international research projects and processes.

United graduate school with closely linked graduate study programmes enables maximal possibility of choice and interdisciplinarity in forming individual doctoral study programmes. Applying European accumulation and transfer credit system (ECTS), each student can select most appropriate courses for his research orientation from a vast palette offered by complementary graduate study programmes. In this way a very effective transfer of knowledge to younger generations is enabled and, at the same time, new knowledge is developed in a harmonic relation between students, professors and researchers in laboratories.

Doctoral study programmes

Dean and the Senate

prof.dr. Iztok Arčon

+386 5 33 15 227 • e-mail


izr. prof. dr. Ana Toroš (programme director)
prof. dr. Marina Lukšič Hacin
pridr. prof. dr. Leonora Flis
pridr. prof. dr. Neva Makuc
Cultural Heritage Studies
prof. dr.Saša Dobričić (programme director)
prof. dr. Iztok Arčon
prof. dr. Samo Stanič
prof. dr. Sandra Gardonio
prof. dr. Gabrijela Zaharijas
Environmental Sciences
prof. dr. Mladen Franko
izr. prof. dr. Martina Bergant Marušič
doc. dr. Iain Robert White
doc. dr. Tinkara Tinta
prid. prof. dr. Henrik Gjerkeš
prof. dr. Martin Knez (programme director)
prof. dr. Franci Gabrovšek
prof. dr. Metka Petrič
prof. dr. Tadej Slabe
prof. dr. Stanka Šebela
Cognitive Science of Language
prof. dr. Artur Stepanov (programme director)
prof. dr. Penka Stateva
prof. dr. Franc Marušič
izr. prof. dr. Rok Žaucer
Molecular Genetics and Biotechnology
izr. prof. dr. Martina Bergant Marušič (programme director)
prof. dr. Emanuele Buratti
prof. dr. Alessandro Marcello
prof. dr. Ario de Marco
prof. dr. Gabrijela Zaharijas (programme director)
izr. prof. dr. Sandra Gardonio
prof. dr. Iztok Arčon
prof. dr. Samo Stanič
prof. dr. Gvido Bratina
prof. dr. Nataša Novak Tušar (programme director)
prof. dr. Iztok Arčon
prof. dr. Matjaž Valant
prof. dr. Nataša Zabukovec Logar


Dr. Zaira Vidau, Director of the Scientific Council SLORI from Trst, Italy
Dr. Megi Rožič, ŠC Nova Gorica, alumni UNG, Slovenia
Cultural Heritage Studies
Špela Spanžel, Acting Director-General of the Cultural Heritage Directorate, Slovenia
Dr. Megi Rožič, School Centre Nova Gorica, alumni UNG, Slovenia
Environmental Sciences
dr. Olena Pliekhova, Swisspearl Slovenija d.o.o., Slovenia
prof. dr. Christian Griebler, University of Vienna, Austria
prof. dr. Hong Liu, Yunnan Institute of Geography, Yunnan University, Kunming, China
Borut Peric, Škocjan Caves Public Service Agency, Slovenia
Cognitive Science of Language
dr. Martina Ozbič, podjetje LOGOS, Slovenia
prof. dr. James Douglas Sady, Center for Integrative Neuroscience and Neurodynamics, University of Reading, UK
Molecular Genetics and Biotechnology
doc. dr. Marija Nika Lovšin, Faculty of Pharmacy, Universiy of Ljubljana, Slovenia
dr. Nina Mencin, Bia Separations d.o.o, Slovenija, alumni UNG, Slovenia
prof. dr. Piero Ullio, International School for Advanced Studies (SISSA), Italy
prof. dr. Piero Ullio, International School for Advanced Studies (SISSA), Italy
dr. Tomaž Vuk, Alpacem Slovenia
dr. Giuliana Aquilanti, Elettra - Sincrotrone Trieste, Italy


Graduate school does not have its own Senate. All its obligations, duties and competences are carried out by the Senate of University of Nova Gorica.